Tags

, ,

You may have noticed that I didn’t post a Mother’s Day menu. It’s not that I forgot, it’s just that I’m a mom and I am against planning my own Mother’s Day so I let it go. Fortunately for me and my mom, our husbands are great cooks and we had a lovely day. It is now back to me to plan what to eat for Memorial Weekend, though. The first weekend of summer makes me want to grill of course and I’m hoping that our finicky northwest weather will cooperate with that. Assuming it does, here’s some perfect recipes for welcoming summer to your house:

The Easy Saturday Dinner:

Classic Daiquiris

Bahn Mi Hot Dogs 

Green Papaya Salad

Potato Chips, preferably Lays cause they’re extra thin.

Grilled Pineapple with Coconut Ice Cream and Habanero Caramel Sauce

This isn’t really a recipe, but you want to cut up a pineapple into rings or spears, whichever you like best, then grill them on high heat to get caramelized grill marks. Then all you do is serve them up with a spoonful of coconut ice cream or lime ice cream or vanilla, whatever, then drizzle bought caramel sauce on top. I feel lucky that I can trot on over to Alma Chocolates here in Portland and buy theirs because it’s so perfect, but you can always use regular caramel or make your own.

Sunday Night Seafood Dinner:

Asparagus Ricotta Tarts

Pink Wine – all day long! A favorite:

Cedar Plank Salmon

Grilled Panzanella Salad

Fresh Strawberries with Balsamic and Cream

This is one of those times when you really do need to good balsamic. The kind that’s thick and syrupy and costs so much. You don’t need to $100 teeny tiny bottle, but a solid $20-30 should do. And by cream, I’m thinking a little blog of clotted cream instead of fresh cream. That should round out your pink meal nicely!

Monday Memorial Burgers

Beer – Not always my drink of choice, but what else do you have on Memorial Day?! Living in Oregon, I’m partial to local brews, but drink what you like. A craft brewery lager would be just about perfect.

Mini Avocado Salads

photo via Pinterest. I’ve tried finding this recipe but the link is long lost. Looks to me like some good avocados, cherry tomatoes, crushed almonds, olive oil, and whatever herbs you like. Don’t forget the salt!

Jalapeno Cheeseburger w/Bacon and Grilled Onion

Delish! Although personally I’d go with a different bun.

Grilled Mexican-style Corn

Classic Potato Salad

Bourbon Pecan Pie:

Start with your favorite crust recipe and fill a pie shell. You’ll only need the bottom crust. Then mix together the following:

3 eggs

3/4 cup sugar

1/4 tsp. salt

1 cup light corn syrup

1tsp vanilla

1/4 cup melted butter

1.5 cups whole pecans

2 Tsp or so bourbon

Bake in an oven pre-heated to 350 degrees for 40-50 minutes. Crust should be browning and edges should be set, but the middle will still be a bit wiggly. Bake it too long and the filling will curdle. Serve alone or with whipped cream.

Have a safe and happy weekend everyone!

