Tags

,

We are in the process of tearing out the old and incredibly nasty carpeting that the previous owners (let’s call them the Dummings) of our house installed on the basement stairs. And by “we”, I mean my wonderful and hard-working husband because I get itchy even thinking about it. Having lived with the results of various DIY home projects that the Dummings undertook we were expecting the stairs to be made of particle board or maybe layers of old magazines. I cannot tell you how please we were to find them to be made of actual, real wood. Of course, it’s real wood under decades of paint, our house was built in 1955 after all. We don’t yet know what the wood under said paint looks like or if it’s something we will want to stain or paint again, but I’ve been assembling some inspiring stairway images to help us decide. What would you do?

Of course, the stairs we all really want are these:

