Tags

,

You know it’s coming. It happens every year. Summer is over this Saturday and my garden is only now full of ripe vegetables. No matter, I’m serving up a dinner Friday night to honor the passing of the warm months into the cool. That, and I really need to use up these tomatoes!

The Paper Plane Cocktail – the perfect transition from the summer Negroni

– from Serious Drinks

Buffalo Grilled Shrimp with Blue Cheese Dip

– originally from Gourmet

Tomato Panzanella Salad with Ricotta 

From Martha, of course…

As the end of Summer it seems only fitting to pair this salad with a nice bottle of rose, because you might not be drinking it once it cools off. While I normally prefer pinks from southern France, it seems fitting to drink something Italian here. I won’t recommend a specific wine because I have no idea what your local wine shop sells, but ask them for a recommendation on an Italian rose. That’s what they’re there for after all!

Brown Butter Plum Upside Down Cake

